Owkin
Also known as: Owkin K, K Navigator, K Pro
K Pro, Owkin's agentic AI for biopharma R&D, orchestrates specialized agents and skills over Owkin's multimodal patient data and the customer's own data and tools, with traceable runs, SSO and on premise or customer cloud deployment.
Owkin sells K Pro, an AI agent for biopharmaceutical research and development that informs decisions on targets, indications, clinical trials and portfolio. One orchestrating agent routes each request to specialized agents for multi-omics, consensus, literature review, prior knowledge, pathology, plotting, code execution and discoverability. It runs parallel subagents, executes generated code in a sandbox, and follows skills. Some skills are certified by Owkin or drawn from key opinion leaders (KOLs), and customers can write their own, which are versioned and promoted through a publish and review process.
K Pro works over Owkin managed datasets, including the MOSAIC spatial and multiomics dataset and a 104 hospital patient data network, joined to the customer's own data. It connects to customer systems registered as MCP servers, such as Benchling, Dotmatics, Snowflake, Databricks, KNIME, Spotfire and Tableau. Runs expose a step by step orchestration trace and tool calls, access runs through SAML or OIDC single sign on with role based permissions, and Owkin holds ISO 27001. K Pro Free runs on public data. The Professional tier adds proprietary data and deploys as single tenant SaaS, in the customer's own cloud or on premises. A public REST API supports job submission and result retrieval.
Vendor details
Canonical URL
https://www.owkin.com
Category
Healthcare agent
Funding status
Private, well funded. Founded 2016 in New York and Paris by Thomas Clozel and Gilles Wainrib; a unicorn tech-bio company with a group of entities including Bioptimus, Waiv (formerly Owkin Dx), and Epkin.
Company status
independent
Use cases & customers
Primary use cases
Target customers
Deployment options
Integrations
Customer systems connect to K Pro as MCP servers, either Owkin wrappers or the customer's own. Benchling and Dotmatics supply assay data. Snowflake, S3, Databricks and GCS serve queries, and KNIME and Pipeline Pilot run as pipelines. Spotfire and Tableau receive the outputs. A public REST API handles job submission and results.
In practice
Your team has to decide which indication to pursue for a new target. A scientist asks K Pro in chat, and its agents work through multiomics data, prior knowledge and the literature in parallel and return an answer with cited sources.
Your assay data lives in Benchling and your queries run in Snowflake. K Pro reaches both through MCP, runs the analysis and writes the outputs to Spotfire or Tableau.
Your security team will not let research data leave your cloud. K Pro deploys in a dedicated environment in your own AWS, Azure or GCP organization, with SSO and role based permissions.
Sources & related URLs
Related / legacy domains
Research sources
Agentic Index coverage score
11.0 / 14 capabilities · 79%
| Integrations & Tool Calling | Full |
|---|---|
|
K Pro connects to customer systems registered as MCP servers, Owkin-provided wrappers or the customer's own, naming Benchling and Dotmatics for assay data, Snowflake, S3, Databricks and GCS for queries, KNIME and Pipeline Pilot as pipelines and Spotfire and Tableau for writing outputs, with per-tool authorization through OIDC, SAML, service accounts or API keys. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/connect-and-integrate/mcp-and-agent-toolsread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Workflow Orchestration | Full |
|
One orchestrating agent routes each request to specialized agents (Multi-Omics, Consensus, Literature Review, Prior Knowledge, Pathology Explorer, Plotter, Code Execution, Discoverability), runs parallel autonomous sub-agents on different angles, and follows skills that encode multi-step workflows. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/what-you-can-do-with-k-pro/how-k-pro-worksread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Knowledge Grounding & RAG | Full |
|
A data catalog Owkin maintains, with Owkin managed datasets including MOSAIC spatial and multiomics data, a 104 hospital patient data network and 19 public datasets, joins the customer's own data, which can stay in the customer's infrastructure, move into an Owkin managed environment or be queried in Databricks or Snowflake. Retrieval augmented generation checks that cited sources are genuine. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/integrate-your-data/connecting-your-data-sourcesread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Human Oversight & Guardrails | Partial |
|
Agentic behavior is bounded by role based permissions, per-tool authorization and safety checks, and custom skills pass a publish-and-review lifecycle before use. Customers set these limits themselves, and no approval step before an agent's action takes effect is described. Sourceowkin.com/k-os/k-pro-faqread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Security, Identity & Governance | Full |
|
Sign in runs through SSO over SAML 2.0 and OIDC with Okta, Entra ID and Cognito, and role based permissions and least privilege roles are enforced across direct calls and calls made through MCP. Owkin holds ISO 27001:2022 (and ISO 13485:2016) and runs a Vanta trust center. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/connect-and-integrate/sso-and-authenticationread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Observability & Auditability | Full |
|
Each run shows the prompt and session context, the tools invoked and data services queried, and a step by step orchestration trace. All events go to an audit trail with request tracing from end to end, LLM usage is logged and the order of tool calls can be traced, with records kept separate for each customer. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/governance-and-security/model-governance/explainability-and-traceabilityread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Memory & State Persistence | Partial |
|
Chat history is saved per user and organization and project workspaces persist, which carries conversation state forward. No other memory that agents keep between conversations is described, and skills are instructions people write. Sourceowkin.com/k-os/k-pro-faqread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Deployment & Data Residency | Full |
|
K Pro deploys as an Owkin hosted, single tenant SaaS or in a dedicated cloud environment in the customer's own AWS, Azure or GCP organization (BYOC, with a least privilege role across accounts), and the Professional tier offers on premise or client instance deployment behind the customer's firewall. Hosting regions are not named. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/governance-and-security/infrastructure-and-hostingread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Prebuilt Agents / Templates / Packs | Full |
|
Skills certified by Owkin and skills drawn from key opinion leaders (KOLs) ship as prepackaged workflows of several steps, beside eight named specialized agents, each with its own job. A use cases library covers target identification, indication prioritization, drug positioning, and literature and patent review. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/what-you-can-do-with-k-pro/how-k-pro-worksread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Triggers & Channel Coverage | Partial |
|
Work starts when a scientist asks in chat, when a job is submitted through the REST API, or when K Pro is called over MCP from the user's own systems. K Pro is not designed to start actions on its own and cannot operate without authenticated users, so nothing starts work on a schedule or event. Sourceowkin.com/k-os/k-pro-faqread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Model Flexibility & Routing | Partial |
|
K Pro reasons through an enterprise LLM that can be substituted according to need, beside Owkin's own OwkinZero and Pathology Explorer models. No provider is named and who makes the substitution is not stated. Sourceowkin.com/k-os/k-pro-architectureread 2026-09-29 |
|
| APIs / SDKs / MCP Extensibility | Full |
|
A public REST API for K Pro supports job submission, status polling and result retrieval as structured JSON with provenance, authenticated by API keys or service accounts, and MCP integration lets K Pro be called from a user's existing internal systems. The list of endpoints is not published. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/connect-and-integrate/api-documentationread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Testing, Debugging & Optimization | Full |
|
Skills carry success criteria with a quality threshold, validation and reproducibility checks and an example execution, and output must pass schema validation. Custom skills are versioned and promoted through a publish and review process, so each workflow the agents follow is checked before it goes into use. Sourcedocs.owkin.com/what-you-can-do-with-k-pro/writing-reproducible-skillsread 2026-09-29 |
|
| Browser / Computer-use | Not documented |
|
No browser, desktop or computer control is described, and K Pro runs the code it generates in a sandbox. Sourceowkin.com/k-os/k-pro-architectureread 2026-09-29 |
|
The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded
Pricing
K Pro Free runs on public data at no cost. Professional is sold through a demo, and no price is published.
No billing unit is published. The Free tier runs within usage limits, and Professional is sold through a sales engagement.
Cost watchouts
The Free tier is limited to public data with capped usage. Proprietary data, upload, high usage and on premises deployment sit in the Professional tier, which has no published price.
Variable cost rationale
No rate or billing unit is published. K Pro Free costs nothing and is limited to public data, capped usage and no data upload. Professional, with proprietary data, data upload, high usage and on premises deployment, is quoted through a demo on multi year licensing. Nothing published says whether its price moves with data scope, usage or deployment model, or what caps it.
Overage / add-ons
Not published.
Sales call required
Yes, required for paid access
Free / trial
K Pro Free on 19 public datasets, with limited usage, no data upload and SaaS access only
Lowest paid plan
Not published
Key ambiguities
K Pro Professional pricing is not disclosed. It is sold through a demo on multi year licensing.
Cancellation / refund
Professional is sold through a demo on multi year licensing. No cancellation or refund terms are published.
Support SLA / resale
Standard support on Free. Professional adds dedicated onboarding and an account manager.
Related vendors
- Abridge — Enterprise ambient AI documentation platform that turns clinical…
- Adonis — AI orchestration platform for revenue cycle management whose…
- AKASA — Generative AI for the hospital mid revenue cycle: Coding and CDI…
- Alaffia Health — Agentic AI for health plan claims operations: utilization…
- AlethianAI — Connected AI agents for medical practices share one patient record
- Ambience Healthcare — AI platform for health systems pairing an ambient scribe with…
Alternatives to Owkin
The closest documented capability profiles to Owkin among healthcare agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.
- Corti9.5 / 14A lighter documented profile than Owkin
- Cohere Health10.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Human Oversight & Guardrails and Triggers & Channel Coverage
- Innovaccer11.5 / 14Adds documented Browser & Computer Use
- Infinitus10.0 / 14Adds documented Browser & Computer Use
- Microsoft Dragon Copilot9.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Human Oversight & Guardrails
- Prosper AI10.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Human Oversight & Guardrails and Triggers & Channel Coverage
Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded