Back to vendors
L

LivePerson

Also known as: LivePerson Conversational Cloud, LPSN, Connect to Messaging

Visit site
Entry priceNot published; three tiers all requiring a custom quoteFull pricing detail

Enterprise digital customer conversation platform running about a billion interactions a month across fourteen messaging channels, with intent modeling, bot building and voice to message deflection, now a SoundHound AI company.

LivePerson is the long standing enterprise platform for digital customer conversations, built for large, highly regulated, consumer facing brands including HSBC, Burberry, Chipotle and Virgin Media, and powering roughly a billion conversational interactions every month. Its Conversational Cloud combines AI automation with live human agents so a conversation can hand off between the two, and its channel breadth is unusually wide: web, in app, SMS, email, WhatsApp, Apple Messages for Business, Messenger, Instagram, Google RCS and Business Messaging, KakaoTalk, Line, Viber and WeChat.

The automation layer is mature rather than new. Intent Manager builds, optimizes, analyzes and discovers intent domain models; Conversation Builder creates bots through a point and click interface; and Connect to Messaging deflects inbound voice calls into messaging threads, which is a distinctive capability given how much enterprise volume still arrives by phone. An Integration Hub with more than fifty data and customization APIs plus CRM connectors handles the systems side, and Report Center and Data Transporter carry the analytics.

Ownership changed on 4 September 2026, when SoundHound AI completed its acquisition of LivePerson and the company became an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of SoundHound.

The deal was agreed on 21 April 2026 at roughly $43 million equity value, about a 22 percent premium to LivePerson's thirty day volume weighted average price, and was restructured on 2 July 2026 into two sequential mergers after Israeli securities rules affecting Tel Aviv Stock Exchange held shares threatened months of delay, with those holders taking cash rather than stock.

Stockholders approved on 2 September 2026 and each share converted into 0.4673 SoundHound Class A shares plus $3.31 in cash. LivePerson continues to sell and support Conversational Cloud and Syntrix under its own name.

The consistent criticism, independent of the change in ownership, is cost and setup complexity. Reviewers from smaller businesses repeatedly flag it as inaccessible, and all three tiers are quote only with no free version or trial.

Vendor details

Canonical URL

https://www.liveperson.com

Category

Customer support agent

Company status

acquired

Use cases & customers

Target customers

large regulated consumer facing enterprisesbanks and telcosglobal brands with multi channel messaging

Deployment options

SaaScloud

In practice

Your customers reach you across fourteen different messaging apps depending on country and age group. LivePerson's channel coverage spans WhatsApp, Apple Messages, KakaoTalk, Line, Viber and WeChat alongside the western defaults.

Most of your volume still arrives by phone and your contact center cost scales with it. Connect to Messaging deflects inbound voice calls into messaging threads rather than into a queue.

You need automation and human agents in the same conversation without a handoff that loses context. The platform is built around AI and live agents sharing one thread.

Agentic Index coverage score

8.5 / 14 capabilities · 61%

Integrations & Tool Calling Full

Open platform is published as a Conversational Cloud pillar: LivePerson's platform is brought together with the customer's existing CRM, marketing and data platforms to personalize and streamline interactions and break down technology silos, with a dedicated integrations catalog page and a partner marketplace of certified integrations alongside. The developer center documents Data APIs for moving conversational data in and out programmatically, so the connection is a documented interface rather than a fixed connector list.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/integrationsread 2026-09-05

Workflow Orchestration Full

The platform orchestrates a mixed workforce and the channels it works across, at enterprise scale: human agents, intelligent automations and conversational AI are balanced within one conversation across voice and messaging, intent identification drives what happens next, Voice AI automates the voice channel end to end with LLM-powered bots, and the Voice to Digital solution routes inbound calls from an existing CCaaS estate into digital threads.

An agent and supervisor workspace carries handoff, review and escalation. Flow building and multi step branching are not described on the platform pages.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/conversational-cloudread 2026-09-05

Knowledge Grounding & RAG Partial

An intent layer is documented and a retrieval structure is not.

LivePerson publishes natural language understanding and natural language processing as the basis for human-like interaction, positions the Conversational Cloud as an AI platform that identifies customer intent, and states that nearly a billion monthly conversational interactions make its intent models more accurate than competitors; Syntrix independently confirms intent models exist by stress-testing intent accuracy.

No index, embeddings layer, retrieval architecture, refresh behavior or source level citation is documented, and KnowledgeAI is not described, so grounding against a maintained corpus is not shown.

Sourceliveperson.com/conversational-airead 2026-09-05

Human Oversight & Guardrails Full

An explicit pre-send approval surface: the Conversational Cloud page states that agents can stay in the loop to review, edit and approve AI responses before they are sent. That is a vendor-owned gate ahead of the action rather than routing after it.

Around it, the platform is built for human agents, automations and AI to share one conversation with handoff between them, the agent and supervisor experience adds real-time context and supervisor visibility, and Syntrix stress-tests flows, handoffs and guardrails in a pre-production environment, which independently confirms those controls exist to be tested.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/conversational-cloudread 2026-09-05

Security, Identity & Governance Full

Compliance and access are both documented. A live Conveyor-powered trust center at trust.liveperson.com carries SOC 2 Type II and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 with certifications downloadable, alongside answer libraries spanning access management, application and data security, artificial intelligence, cloud security, continuity, incident management, privacy and security governance.

The security page adds SSAE 18 SOC2+HIPAA reporting audited yearly to AICPA standards, PCI DSS 4.0, GDPR, Sarbanes-Oxley, HIPAA via executed BAAs, and HITRUST Common Security Framework audit, plus a formal Vulnerability Disclosure Policy and Program and roughly 30 penetration tests a year per the developer documentation. For sign in, the Conversational Cloud page names integration with the brand's own single sign-on experience, alongside available masking and encryption of data at rest, firewalls, ACLs, load balancers and DDoS protection. The security page describes the ISMS as aligned with ISO 27001 while the trust center lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022 as held, and the trust center is the stronger statement.

Sourcetrust.liveperson.comread 2026-09-05

Observability & Auditability Partial

Analytics and supervisor visibility are documented; run reconstruction is not. Conversational Intelligence and Insights ships as its own product, giving access to and analysis of all conversational data across voice and messaging to understand what customers want and to improve contact center performance, and the agent and supervisor experience is published as increasing supervisor visibility with real-time context.

No step level decision trace, tool call log or retrieval record for an individual automated interaction is documented, so a buyer can measure outcomes but not reconstruct how one conversation was resolved. Syntrix provides transcript level traceability, but only over simulated conversations before production.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/conversational-intelligenceread 2026-09-05

Memory & State Persistence Not documented

What persists is not stated. Agents work in the Conversation Manager workspace, and the Conversational Cloud page describes giving them context in real time without saying what is retained or for how long; the Conversational AI, Syntrix and security pages say nothing either. Conversational Intelligence gives access to and analysis of all conversational data across voice and messaging, but that is an analytics corpus rather than state an agent carries, and a store is not a memory layer whoever writes it. 2026-09-05

Deployment & Data Residency Not documented

No residency position appears on the product or security pages. The security page describes yearly data center audits and N+1 power across all data centers but names no region and offers no selection, and the Conversational Cloud, Syntrix and Conversational AI product pages say nothing on residency. LivePerson sells to HSBC, Zurich Insurance and other regulated European brands, but where their data sits is not stated there. 2026-09-05

Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs Partial

Adoptable assets exist but are assembled or delivered rather than browsed. LivePerson publishes an AI Chatbot Toolset as a named bundle for building bots, Voice AI as a packaged automation for the voice channel, and a partner Marketplace of solutions delivered by certified partners, which is an adoption route the buyer can take. No vendor supplied catalog of prebuilt agents or templates that the customer browses and puts into service is documented; the routes that do exist run through partners or through building on the toolset.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/ai-chatbotsread 2026-09-05

Triggers & Channel Coverage Full

Breadth across voice and messaging with the agent both receiving and initiating.

The Conversational Cloud page publishes communication channels as a platform pillar covering SMS, WhatsApp, voice and other key channels, with a dedicated Messaging Channels product page, multi-channel deployment and multi-language support across geographies; Voice AI automates the voice channel with LLM-powered bots, and the Voice to Digital solution moves inbound calls from a CCaaS estate into digital threads.

Initiation is documented on the financial services solution page, which describes proactively engaging consumers. The acquirer's completion release positions the combined company as omnichannel conversational AI.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/messaging-channelsread 2026-09-05

Model Flexibility & Routing Not documented

No model selection, routing control or bring your own model option is exposed to the customer, and no provider is named. LivePerson describes delivering outcomes with the power of state-of-the-art large language models and ships LLM-powered voice bots, so external models are plainly in use, but which ones and who chooses are undisclosed on the product surface. The trust center carries an Artificial Intelligence answer library of over two hundred entries.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/generative-airead 2026-09-05

APIs, SDKs & MCP Extensibility Full

A public developer center at developers.liveperson.com, linked from the site footer, is published as a digital toolbox for building on the Conversational Cloud, with an All Documents index, a Data APIs section and security documentation covering consumer authentication. A developer can read the surface and authenticate against it without a sales conversation. No Model Context Protocol server is documented.

Sourcedevelopers.liveperson.com/all-documents.htmlread 2026-09-05

Testing, Debugging & Optimization Full

Syntrix ships as a named evaluation product. Before launch it simulates real customer interactions in a pre-production environment, runs multiple simulated conversations simultaneously to validate agent performance across edge cases, stress-tests intent accuracy, and tests guardrails and compliance handling, against synthetic personas built to behavioral profiles.

The result is readable and comparable: the published cycle is Test, Evaluate, Verify and Validate, with scorecards and analytics producing actionable insights, a summary view of outcomes across every simulated conversation, drill-down into individual transcripts with full traceability, and performance segmented by agent. It runs continuously after launch as well as before it, and the vendor reports a 60 percent reduction in bot testing cycles.

Sourceliveperson.com/syntrixread 2026-09-05

Browser & Computer Use Not documented

The route out is programmatic, and LivePerson states it positively: the open platform connects to the customer's CRM, marketing and data systems, the integrations catalog and Data APIs carry the traffic, and automation reaches customers over voice and messaging channels rather than by operating an interface. No browser control, hosted session, virtual desktop or autonomous computer use is documented. Cobrowse, where a human agent views and guides a customer's session, is not documented either, and it would not be autonomous browser control in any case.

Sourceliveperson.com/products/conversational-cloudread 2026-09-05

The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded

Recent platform changes

2026-09-21·MCP / tool calling / APIPartially Verified

LivePerson changed Connect to Messaging eligibility responses to HTTP 400 when required template variables are missing and no channel passes validation, replacing HTTP 200 with eligible set to false. Extra variables remain unaffected. The same release adds agent and simulation assessments to interrupted Syntrix v1.8.1 runs, using only completed conversations. Account delivery dates may vary.

Bears on: Observability / auditability

View source
2026-09-04·Funding / partnershipPartially Verified

SoundHound AI has officially completed its acquisition of LivePerson. The integration combines SoundHound's voice AI capabilities with LivePerson's digital chat and messaging platform into a unified omnichannel solution.

Bears on: Funding / partnership

View source
2026-09-02·Deployment / data residencyVerified

LivePerson announced updated cutover dates for migrating aiStudio custom flows to Google Gemini models. The cutover for all AI agents will occur on September 3, 2026, for EMEA brands and September 17, 2026, for North America brands.

Bears on: Agent capability

View source
View all 3 changes for LivePerson →Tracked since Sep 2026 · Verified from public vendor sources

Pricing

Not published; three tiers all requiring a custom quote

usage and feature tier

What is public

Tier names and what each includes are documented in detail through review platforms; no rates are published by LivePerson.

Billing mechanics

Three named tiers priced on usage and feature scope. Bronze covers core messaging, intent management and standard support. Silver adds the automation layer, Conversation Builder, KnowledgeAI and proactive messaging with enhanced support. Gold adds generative AI, voice bots and dedicated customer success. Every tier requires contacting the vendor.

Cost watchouts

Generative AI and voice bots are Gold tier only, X messaging carries additional fees, and setup complexity is the most consistent reviewer complaint alongside cost

Variable cost rationale

Pricing is described as usage based within feature tiers, so cost scales with conversation volume across fourteen channels, and the metric driving that usage is not disclosed.

Additional watchouts

Buy decisions here should account for the acquisition, which closed on 4 September 2026, so roadmap and pricing now sit with SoundHound. Separately, smaller organizations are consistently steered away by reviewers on cost and setup complexity.

Sales call required

Yes, required for paid access

Free / trial

No free version and no free trial on any tier

Lowest paid plan

Bronze

Commercial notes

The tier structure puts generative AI in the top tier, which matters because that is the capability most buyers are now shopping for, so the AI story and the enterprise price point are coupled. The SoundHound acquisition, completed on 4 September 2026, is the larger commercial consideration: an acquirer at roughly $43 million equity value taking on a platform running a billion monthly interactions may well revisit packaging.

Key ambiguities

All three tiers are quote only, so the practical entry cost is unknown. One aggregator lists a $40 monthly starting figure that is inconsistent with the enterprise positioning and every other source, and it was not carried into this record.

Missing data

Rates for any tier, the usage metric that drives cost, minimum commitments and implementation fees.

Agentic Index verified 2026-08-05

Alternatives to LivePerson

The closest documented capability profiles to LivePerson among customer support agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.

  • Help Scout8.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG
  • Parloa7.5 / 14A lighter documented profile than LivePerson
  • Crescendo8.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs
  • Maven AGI8.0 / 14Adds documented Deployment & Data Residency
  • Assembled8.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Observability & Auditability and Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs
  • Fini8.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG and Observability & Auditability

Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We'd love to hear from you.