Back to vendors
T

Thefword

Also known as: Thefword, thefword.ai, Thefword Inc

Visit site
Entry priceFree (75 credits); Starter $10 one-time; Pro $299/month; Enterprise pilots from $6,999/monthFull pricing detail

AI fashion workflow software that takes a style from trend brief to editable tech pack, launch imagery and factory handoff on one product record, with PLM and factory system integrations for enterprise brands.

Thefword is AI fashion workflow software for apparel brands. It keeps one product record for each style and runs four connected workflows on it: creative direction, which turns trend signals, references and brand DNA into a moodboard and structured brief; production readiness, which drafts an editable tech pack with BOM, points of measure, grading, tolerances and construction notes in about ten minutes; product launch, which produces AI photoshoots, lookbooks and product cards from the approved style; and production handoff, which turns an approved tech pack into a factory operations bulletin.

Workflows run as priced bundles, such as Trend to Tech Pack, that chain trend analysis, design generation, garment analysis and tech pack drafting in one pass. Technical teams review every production field before a pack goes to a supplier, and factory readiness checks flag missing trims, lab dips or approvals before an order is released. Enterprise workspaces ingest a brand's own knowledge base, historical tech packs and PLM data, sync two ways with Centric, PTC FlexPLM and Backbone over REST, push approved specs into factory ERP, MES and inspection tools, and log every approval with who made it and when.

The platform is cloud software. Enterprise tenants add SSO through Okta, Azure AD or Google, role-based access, data isolation and a choice of US or EU data residency, and paid customer content is not used to train shared models without written opt-in. It suits in-house design, technical design and production teams at brands running many styles a season; brands wanting a general-purpose agent builder or model choice will not find either here.

Vendor details

Canonical URL

https://thefword.ai

Category

Enterprise operations agent

Funding status

Angel round in 2024 per Crunchbase, based in Fremont, California (Thefword Inc.). Reports more than 10,000 fashion designers using the platform. Investors and round amount are not disclosed.

Company status

independent

Use cases & customers

Primary use cases

Sketch and trend to concept designProduction ready AI tech pack generation3D visualization and digital samplingVendor coordination and go to market assets

Target customers

Fashion and apparel brandsDTC, retail, and luxury design and product teamsIndependent designers and studios

Deployment options

SaaSPrivate tenant with US or EU data residency (enterprise)

Integrations

Integrates with existing PLM and other systems (some out of the box, others during pilots), synchronizes updates with vendors, and exports production and 3D formats including GLB and FBX.

In practice

A womenswear brand's technical designers spend a day on each tech pack. Thefword drafts the BOM, points of measure, grading and tolerances in minutes from the approved brief, and the team edits and approves every field before it goes to the factory.

A production manager keeps getting factories working from outdated PDFs. Once a tech pack is approved, Thefword turns it into an operations bulletin and pushes it into the factory's ERP through the API, with a log of who approved each change.

A creative director needs a defensible seasonal direction fast. The Trend to Brief workflow pulls trend signals and brand references into a moodboard and structured brief that design and pre-production can pick up the same week.

Agentic Index coverage score

6.5 / 14 capabilities · 46%

Integrations & Tool Calling Full

Thefword documents read-write integration with named PLM systems and factory tools on its Enterprise tier.

Production Handoff describes "two-way sync with Centric, PTC FlexPLM, Backbone, and custom systems through REST endpoints"; pushing "the approved tech pack and bulletin straight into the factory's planning system through API" (factory ERP and MES); sending "AQL plans and measurement points to inline and final inspection tools"; and versioned, vendor-scoped links for sourcing portals.

The Enterprise page repeats "PLM and ERP sync: Centric, FlexPLM, REST", and the Pricing FAQ says Enterprise plans include PLM and ERP integrations. Standard exports (.glb,.png,.pdf) come on every plan. Named native PLM connectors plus REST for custom systems are documented, read and write.

Integrations come only with Enterprise and are scoped through a "Book an integration review" step, the FAQ still frames PLM and ERP as integration planning, and credential scoping and revocation are not documented.

Sourcethefword.ai/production-handoff, /enterprise, /pricing, /faqs; readread 2026-09-16

Workflow Orchestration Full

Generation steps, approvals and deterministic checks chain into workflows of several steps on one product record. The Pricing page itemizes each bundle as sequenced steps, for example Trend to Tech Pack = Brief Workflow + AI Fashion Designer (20) + Garment AI Analysis (22) + Tech Pack (65), with an Autonomous Trend Run at the head of Trend to Brief.

Approved outputs route forward ("send the approved brief into AI fashion design, tech pack generation, and product launch workflows"), and Production Handoff converts approved tech packs into factory operations bulletins automatically and runs factory readiness checks before release. Generation steps chained with deterministic readiness checks and approval states mix fixed and autonomous steps, and revision history sits on the record.

Workflows are defined by the vendor rather than authored by the buyer. Branching, retries, fallback paths and reuse across teams beyond shared workspaces are not documented, and the site describes steps rather than an orchestration surface.

Sourcethefword.ai/pricing, /creative-direction, /production-handoff, /product; readread 2026-09-16

Knowledge Grounding & RAG Partial

A brand's own knowledge base, historical tech packs and PLM data are ingested, but no retrieval structure over them is documented.

The Enterprise page says "your workspace also ingests your knowledge base, brand DNA, and PLM data", with pilot week two covering that ingestion; the Pricing page offers "bring your own knowledge base and PLM data" and "historical tech pack onboarding"; and Production Readiness says the workflow "can use prior tech packs, fit comments, grading decisions" and supplier notes.

Thefword's proprietary garment records tied to real factory outputs are the vendor's own dataset, not grounding in the buyer's data.

Whether brand data is retrieved at run time or trained in is not stated, though an article on brand DNA refers to custom models, and whether retrieved passages are visible or outputs cite sources is not documented.

Sourcethefword.ai/enterprise, /pricing, /production-readiness; readread 2026-09-16

Human Oversight & Guardrails Partial

Approvals gate downstream work and missing ones get flagged, but review of drafts is described as practice rather than a configurable gate. The Production Readiness page says "your technical team reviews every production field before supplier handoff", and the FAQ says a tech pack draft "should be reviewed by your team before manufacturing". Downstream workflows take an approved brief or approved tech pack as input, and Production Handoff's "factory readiness checks flag missing trims, lab dips, or approvals before the order is released to cutting".

The buyer cannot set which actions need sign off, who signs off or what happens when nobody does, and neither where approvals sit in a workflow nor autonomy modes by risk are documented.

Sourcethefword.ai/production-readiness, /production-handoff, /faqs; read; thefword.ai/production-handoffread 2026-09-16

Security, Identity & Governance Partial

Single sign on, role based access and isolated enterprise workspaces are documented, but no independent attestation is. The Enterprise page lists "SSO: Okta, Azure AD, Google", and the Pricing page's Enterprise card lists SSO, role-based access and data isolation. Data use: "paid customer content is not used to train shared models unless you expressly opt in in writing", and enterprise workspaces are isolated by default.

No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or equivalent attestation is published or pending. "GDPR and CCPA compliant data handling" is a regulatory posture rather than an independent audit, no trust portal is published, and the Enterprise page's "Download security overview" button leads to the pricing page rather than a document.

Sourcethefword.ai/enterprise, /pricing, /faqs; probe trust.thefword.ai; readread 2026-09-16

Observability & Auditability Partial

Every approval and revision is logged with who made it and when, but no record of what each AI step did is documented. Production Handoff's approval and revision history says "every change is logged with who approved it and when", an approval and revision log is among the handoff outputs, and revision history is carried on the tech pack record. That is an audit record of approvals at record level.

Nothing shows which inputs an AI step used or what it generated before a person edited it, and the log is not described as separating AI steps from human edits. Export and retention are not documented.

Sourcethefword.ai/production-handoff, /production-readiness; readread 2026-09-16

Memory & State Persistence Not documented

What the product calls memory is prior work reused as reference, not agent memory. The Production Readiness page's "pattern intelligence and technical memory" says "the workflow can use prior tech packs, fit comments, grading decisions, measurement logic, base blocks, and supplier notes to make the next style stronger", and a single product record carries revision history.

Learning across sessions is not a memory layer, and neither is the application's own database: the brand's prior tech packs reused as reference are a knowledge store, and the product record and revision history are the application's own data. No session, conversation or agent memory is documented, so there is nothing to review or delete.

Sourcethefword.ai/production-readiness, /product, /enterprise; readread 2026-09-16

Deployment & Data Residency Full

Thefword's Enterprise tier names US and EU data residency, with a private, isolated tenant. Under "Security and integration", the Enterprise page lists "Data residency: US and EU regions" beside a private workspace, and the Pricing page's Enterprise card lists a private tenant and data isolation, noting that "enterprise workspaces are isolated by default".

Residency is an Enterprise feature. No selection surface, self-hosted, VPC or on-premises mode is documented, and whether model traffic, not only storage, stays in region is not stated.

Sourcethefword.ai/enterprise, /pricing; readread 2026-09-16

Prebuilt Agents / Templates / Packs Partial

Four named workflow bundles run on any plan, but there is no browsable catalog. The bundles are Trend to Brief (30 credits), Trend to Tech Pack (115), Full Product Workflow (162) and a Launch Content Add-on (30), each a complete chained workflow that stands on its own.

Only the outputs, editable drafts, are documented as editable, not the workflows themselves. The blog's Fashion Design Brief Template is an article.

Sourcethefword.ai/pricing, /enterprise, /product; readread 2026-09-16

Triggers & Channel Coverage Partial

A person launches every workflow in the web app; nothing documented starts one on its own. Workflows start from the app ("Start free", "Generate a tech pack"); the Creative Direction page's first step is "Collect: bring in signals from market, culture, references"; and the Autonomous Trend Run is an 8-credit step inside a bundle the user launches. Market and trend signals are inputs a person brings, not events that start a workflow. The one automatic seam, Production Handoff converting "approved tech packs... into factory-ready bulletins automatically", starts from a person's approval.

No schedule, webhook, inbox or PLM event that starts a workflow is documented.

Sourcethefword.ai/creative-direction, /pricing, /production-handoff; readread 2026-09-16

Model Flexibility & Routing Not documented

No underlying model or provider is named, and buyers get no choice; the vendor controls the model.

No page names a model or provider, offers a provider list or mentions bring-your-own keys, and the Pricing page describes the platform as "not a generic image model dressed up for fashion" and prices each generation step in credits with no model option.

Working across models, routing tasks between them, or letting buyers bring their own providers and keys is not documented. The Pro plan's "bring your own fashion models" refers to on-figure model likenesses for AI photoshoots, not machine-learning models.

Sourcethefword.ai/pricing, /enterprise, /product; readread 2026-09-16

APIs / SDKs / MCP Extensibility Partial

Thefword says enterprise customers get API access, but publishes no reference or SDK. The pricing FAQ says "Enterprise plans include PLM and ERP integrations, SSO, API access", the FAQ page lists API access for enterprise teams, and Production Handoff says the platform "receives approved tech packs through an API" and returns "a structured payload".

The API is named but not documented: no reference, endpoint list, authentication method, SDK or developer documentation is published, and no MCP support is mentioned.

Sourcethefword.ai/pricing, /faqs, /production-handoff, /llms.txt; probe docs.thefword.ai; readread 2026-09-16

Testing, Debugging & Optimization Not documented

Quality checks here test the buyer's product specification; no way to evaluate a change to the AI workflows is documented. Production Readiness lists POM validation and supplier readiness checks, and Production Handoff's factory readiness checks flag missing trims, lab dips or approvals; all of these test the garment specification, not the AI workflow.

The pilot's week-five KPI report, comparing outcomes with the agreed baseline, is delivered by the vendor's rollout team inside an engagement, and cost simulation reads on the garment. No evaluation harness, scored test cases, quality gates in a release path or optimization loop is documented, and testing with fixtures or scoring output quality over time is not described. The Pricing page's ROI calculator and 4.8/5 satisfaction figure are marketing.

Sourcethefword.ai/production-readiness, /production-handoff, /enterprise, /pricing; readread 2026-09-16

Browser / Computer-use Not documented

Outputs are made inside the web app and outside systems are reached through APIs, so there is no browser or computer control. The product generates moodboards, briefs, designs, tech pack drafts, 3D visualizations and on-model images in the app, and connects to PLM, ERP and factory systems through APIs; nothing operates a browser or desktop interface. AI photoshoots and virtual try-on render garments on figures, which is image generation, not computer use.

Sourcethefword.ai/product, /production-handoff, /pricing; readread 2026-09-16

The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded

Pricing

Free (75 credits); Starter $10 one-time; Pro $299/month; Enterprise pilots from $6,999/month

Free tierTrial available

Cost watchouts

Credits are consumed by AI generation and workflow actions, so heavy generation or large collections can raise cost; Explorer outputs are limited to private or educational use, and commercial rights require Fashion Pro or higher.

Variable cost rationale

Credit based billing means cost scales with generation and workflow volume; large or iterative collections consume more credits, though a free tier and pay as you go cushion entry.

Sales call required

Mixed (some tiers require a call)

Free / trial

75 free credits, no card required; free use is personal only, Starter and above are commercially licensed

Key ambiguities

The pricing page shows Pro at $299 against a struck $399, while the FAQ page still says Pro is $399 per month. Enterprise is quoted from $6,999 per month for a pilot, with committed credit pools and custom pricing beyond it. Integrations, SSO and data residency are Enterprise-only.

Agentic Index verified 2026-09-16

Alternatives to Thefword

The closest documented capability profiles to Thefword among enterprise operations agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.

  • Pluto77.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG and Triggers & Channel Coverage
  • Deposco6.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG
  • Pelico8.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG and Security, Identity & Governance
  • ChipAgents4.5 / 14A lighter documented profile than Thefword
  • Cosmon8.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Knowledge Grounding & RAG and Human Oversight & Guardrails
  • Hebbia5.5 / 14Adds documented Model Flexibility & Routing

Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We'd love to hear from you.