Back to vendors
A

Ashby

Also known as: Ashby, Inc., Ashby All-in-One, Ashby Assistant, Ashby Analytics, ashbyhq.com

Visit site
Entry priceFrom $400/moFull pricing detail

All-in-one recruiting platform (ATS, CRM, scheduling, analytics) with a built-in AI agent that answers questions and takes confirmed actions across hiring data, plus custom agents, Slack access and an MCP server.

Ashby is an all-in-one recruiting platform combining an applicant tracking system, sourcing CRM, interview scheduling and native analytics, with an AI agent layer built on the same data. Ashby Assistant is a chat agent that answers questions across candidates, jobs, applications, interviews, feedback and interview transcripts with citations to the underlying records, and can draft candidate emails, add notes, advance applications, consider candidates for jobs, create candidates and fill forms, with each action held for the user's confirmation before it runs. Custom agents capture repeatable instructions as personal or organization-shared agents, invoked by @mention in the chat or from Slack.

The Ashby MCP server lets Claude, ChatGPT and other AI tools work directly with Ashby data, alongside a public developer API and a 250+ integration marketplace. Embedded AI features cover application review against job criteria, talent rediscovery, outreach personalization, feedback summaries, content drafting, natural-language report building and an AI notetaker add-on. Ashby, Inc. is based in San Francisco; the Assistant and custom agents are in open beta, and agents cannot yet be run on a schedule or triggered by events.

Vendor details

Canonical URL

https://ashbyhq.com

Category

Enterprise operations agent

Subcategory

Recruiting — all-in-one ATS/CRM

Company status

independent

Use cases & customers

Primary use cases

applicant trackingrecruiting CRMrecruiting analytics

Target customers

recruiting teamsstartupsenterprise

Deployment options

SaaS

Integrations

250+ integration marketplace across sourcing, assessment, video interview, job boards and post-hire tools; two-way Google Workspace and Office 365; Slack (including the Assistant in Slack); Workday, Ironclad and Juro; Snowflake and S3 data sharing; public developer API and Ashby MCP server

In practice

Your recruiting stack is an ATS, a CRM, a scheduler, and a spreadsheet that don't talk. Ashby unifies ATS, CRM, analytics, and scheduling in one platform.

You can't tell which sourcing channels actually produce hires. Ashby builds analytics throughout, so the hiring data is in the same place you run the pipeline.

Coordinating interviews across the team eats your recruiters' day. Ashby handles scheduling inside the platform with AI assistance, so it isn't a separate manual chore.

Agentic Index coverage score

7.5 / 14 capabilities · 54%

Integrations & Tool Calling Full

Ashby publishes a 250+ integration marketplace spanning sourcing, assessment, video interview, job board and post-hire tools, two-way Google Workspace and Office 365 sync for sending mail and scheduling from Ashby, and Ironclad, Juro and Workday integrations that trigger and track outside-system workflows from pipeline stages; integrations are opt-in and authenticate via OAuth, and the Assistant's email-candidate and Slack tools act through those connected systems.

SourceAshby pricing feature table (ashbyhq.com/pricing), Security Overview, Knowledge Base Ashby Agentsread 2026-09-08

Workflow Orchestration Partial

The Ashby Assistant chains its documented tools inside one conversation (search or filter records, get record details, then change application stage, add a note, email a candidate or fill a form) and reports when all actions are complete, and custom agents carry instructions, inputs, sources and allowed actions. Only one agent can be added to a request at a time and the vendor states that running agents on a recurring schedule or on events is not currently available, so this is single-agent multi-step execution with no workflow runtime and no multi-agent composition.

SourceAshby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents)read 2026-09-08

Knowledge Grounding & RAG Full

The Assistant and custom agents read a persistent, queryable corpus of the customer's own recruiting knowledge (candidates, applications, jobs, interview plans, feedback forms, interview transcripts, openings, notes, emails and texts) through documented search, filter and get-record tools, with every answer citing the underlying Ashby record, and AI Talent Rediscovery matches that stored corpus against job criteria; the structure persists in the customer's Ashby instance and scales past any context window.

SourceAshby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents) and Ashby AI page (ashbyhq.com/ai)read 2026-09-08

Human Oversight & Guardrails Full

Every Ashby Assistant and custom agent action is held for the user's confirmation before it runs, with approve, reject and refine surfaced in the chat, email and note drafts are reviewed before send or save, custom agents declare which actions they are allowed to take, admins opt in per AI feature and can disable agents, and the platform's approval workflows route offers, jobs and openings through multi-step approval chains approvable from Slack, email and mobile; this is the vendor's own review-and-approve surface, not a gate the customer already owns.

SourceAshby Assistant release 2026-05-07, Ashby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents), pricing feature table; ashbyhq.com/product-updates/ashby-assistantread 2026-09-08

Security, Identity & Governance Full

Both attestation and access controls are documented. SOC 2 Type II is audited annually, with 2024, 2025 and 2026 reports and SOC 1 Type II on the SafeBase trust center, an audit period of 1 December to 30 November, and the report gated behind a standard access request.

Access control covers SSO via SAML and OIDC through the customer's identity provider (a $100/month add-on on Foundations, included above), SCIM directory sync, granular and custom permission roles set globally or per department and job, permission automation, a user audit log of permission changes, and agent actions that run as the user under existing object-level permissions with limited-access users excluded from agents.

SourceAshby Security Overview 2024-12-20, Trust Center (trust.ashbyhq.com), pricing feature table, Ashby Assistant release 2026-05-07; ashbyhq.com/resources/securityread 2026-09-08

Observability & Auditability Partial

After an Assistant action runs, each action expands to show its details in the conversation, every response cites the source records, and conversations are retained and searchable under Recents, so a user can see what the agent did and on what basis. No admin-level log of agent runs, prompts, retention or export is documented (the trust center lists a customer question on access to employee prompt logs with the answer gated), and the platform's user audit log covers permission changes only, so reconstruction stops at the user's own chat.

SourceAshby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents), Trust Center FAQ index, pricing feature tableread 2026-09-08

Memory & State Persistence Partial

Previous Assistant conversations are retained under Recents and are searchable, and follow-up questions within a conversation carry context. No memory layer with a stated scope and lifetime that agents read across conversations is documented; custom agent instructions are configuration rather than memory, and the candidate database is the application's data model.

SourceAshby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents) and Ashby Assistant release 2026-05-07read 2026-09-08

Deployment & Data Residency Not documented

Hosting is on Amazon Web Services, and the privacy policy states that personal data is transferred to and processed in the United States, with no region list, customer environment option or selection surface documented anywhere on the estate; the Data Privacy Framework certification is transfer cover rather than residency. The trust center's answer on where Ashby is hosted sits behind a gate.

SourceAshby Security Overview 2024-12-20, Privacy Policy 2025-09-24, Trust Center (trust.ashbyhq.com); ashbyhq.com/resources/privacyread 2026-09-08

Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs Partial

Custom agents are customer-authored, generated from a plain-language description or built manually, and the release post offers a start-from-template option that the help center's agent-creation wizard does not document. The use-case library is prompts, and the named AI features (Application Review, Talent Rediscovery, Candidate Assistant, Notetaker) are per-feature toggles inside one product with two paid add-ons rather than a set of whole prebuilt agents a buyer adopts.

Sourceashbyhq.com/product-updates/ashby-assistantread 2026-09-08

Triggers & Channel Coverage Partial

Work reaches the agentic layer by invocation only: the Assistant and custom agents are @mentioned in the Ashby AI chat or asked from the Slack apps channel, and the help center states that running an agent on a recurring schedule or when specific events occur is not currently available.

Event coverage exists on the platform's fixed AI features and automations (Smart Reply Tracking sets sequence status on the candidate's reply, AI-Assisted Application Review analyzes inbound applications against job criteria, interview plan automation, conditional activities and custom alerts fire on stage moves and conditions). The agents themselves cannot be reached by event or schedule.

SourceAshby Knowledge Base Ashby Agents (docs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agents) and pricing feature tableread 2026-09-08

Model Flexibility & Routing Not documented

Ashby states that it uses third-party AI models, naming OpenAI under a DPA, with no customer or admin choice of model documented anywhere on the estate. The full subprocessor list and the where-is-the-AI-model-hosted FAQ on the trust center are gated, so whether a second LLM provider is used is not established; Assembly AI and Recall AI are named for the Notetaker add-on's transcription, not a selectable model.

SourceAshby AI page FAQ (ashbyhq.com/ai) and Trust Center subprocessor updatesread 2026-09-08

APIs, SDKs & MCP Extensibility Full

Ashby's own platform is callable from outside through a public developer API (developers.ashbyhq.com, linked from every footer; API Access listed on all plans as programmatic access to Ashby data for building integrations and automations, plus an Enterprise Offer Approval API) with access keys customers generate and regenerate themselves, and through the Ashby MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor.

Sourceashbyhq.com/pricingread 2026-09-08

Testing, Debugging & Optimization Not documented

No customer-facing harness, test cases, quality gate or optimization loop for the Assistant or custom agents is documented; the help center's agent surface ends at create, edit, disable and a generate-draft step, and the pricing table's sandbox instance is a non-production environment for configuration testing, not an agent evaluation. The FairNow bias audits and the Braintrust subprocessor (AI observability and evaluation) are the vendor's own model evaluation and engineering practice rather than a customer surface.

Sourcedocs.ashbyhq.com/ashby-agentsread 2026-09-08

Browser & Computer Use Not documented

The agents act through Ashby's own documented tools and no browser, desktop or computer control is documented anywhere on the estate; the sourcing Chrome extension is operated by the recruiter to add candidates from a page into Ashby, a human using an extension rather than an agent operating an interface.

SourceAshby AI page (ashbyhq.com/ai), pricing feature table, Knowledge Base Ashby Agentsread 2026-09-08

The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded

Pricing

From $400/mo

hybrid

Included quota

Foundations at $400 a month (about $360 on annual) for up to 100 employees, with the plan table stating 200 sourcing email lookups a month, 1,000 outbound SMS a month, one offer template, one candidate survey, basic report filtering and 1,500 AI Credits a month. Plus and Enterprise raise the SMS and AI Credit allowances per seat and add unlimited offer templates, custom dashboards, scheduled dashboard delivery, custom alerts, calculated fields, SCIM directory sync, a sandbox instance, custom permission roles (3 on Plus, unlimited on Enterprise) and the Workday integration; Ashby Assistant, custom agents, the MCP server and API access all appear in the plan table.

What is public

Ashby publishes one list price: the All-in-One Foundations plan at $400 a month billed monthly for companies up to 100 employees, with a 10% discount for annual commitment and emerging-market pricing available. Plus (101 to 1,000 employees) and Enterprise (1,000 and up) are quote-only and priced on company size, usage and commitment; Ashby Analytics for an existing ATS is priced on usage. A full feature-by-plan table is published alongside the prices.

Billing mechanics

The Foundations price is set by company size band (1 to 10 through 76 to 100 employees) and payment term, and Plus and Enterprise are priced on company size, usage and commitment rather than recruiter seats. Allowances are stated per plan: 200 sourcing email lookups a month on every plan with extra lookups as a paid add-on; candidate texting of 1,000 outbound messages a month on Foundations and 2,000 or 3,000 per seat per year on Plus and Enterprise, with additional messages at $90 per 1,000; and AI Credits of 1,500 a month on Foundations, 2,500 per seat per year on Plus and 12,500 per seat per year on Enterprise, with additional credits purchasable. SSO via SAML or OIDC is a $100 a month add-on on Foundations. Ashby Assistant and custom agents are free during the open beta and will draw on AI Credits at general availability.

Cost watchouts

Plus and Enterprise are quote-only and scale with company size; AI Notetaker and Advanced Scheduling are paid add-ons on every plan with no published price; Advanced Diversity Analytics and Candidate Data Enrichment are paid add-ons on Plus; SSO costs $100 a month on Foundations; the AI Assistant and custom agents will consume AI Credits once out of beta; SMS and email-lookup allowances carry paid overages.

Variable cost rationale

The base is set by company size band and rises with headcount rather than with recruiter count, SMS, email lookups and AI Credits carry stated allowances with purchasable extras, and Notetaker and Advanced Scheduling are separate add-ons.

Additional watchouts

The agent layer is in open beta and agents cannot yet run on a schedule or on events; Notetaker and advanced scheduling are extra; Plus and Enterprise pricing is not published, so the $400 figure applies only to companies of 100 employees or fewer.

Overage / add-ons

Email lookups above the 200 a month allowance are bought as a paid add-on in batches; SMS above the plan allowance at $90 per 1,000; additional AI Credits are purchasable; Foundations is sized to 100 employees, above which Plus applies.

Sales call required

Mixed (some tiers require a call)

Lowest paid plan

All-in-One Foundations, $400/month billed monthly (10% off annual), up to 100 employees

Commercial notes

Ashby, Inc., San Francisco. All-in-one ATS, CRM, scheduling and analytics with an embedded AI agent layer (Ashby Assistant, custom agents, Slack access, MCP server) released May 2026 in open beta; SOC 2 Type II; AI features are opt-in per feature by the customer admin.

Key ambiguities

Only Foundations carries a list price; Plus and Enterprise are quote-only and scale by company size, usage and commitment; add-on prices (AI Notetaker, Advanced Scheduling) are not published; the pricing page routes every plan to a demo request, so self-serve purchase is unconfirmed. A $300 a month entry or a free tier cited by some third parties is not on the live page.

Cancellation / refund

Monthly billing on Foundations with a 10% discount for annual commitment; cancellation, implementation and payment-option terms are addressed in the pricing page FAQ, whose answers are not readable to automated retrieval.

Support SLA / resale

Support tiers and implementation charges are addressed in the pricing page FAQ (answers not readable to automated retrieval); Ashby Analytics is also sold standalone as a reporting layer over an existing ATS.

Missing data

Plus, Enterprise, Analytics and add-on prices are unpublished; the AI Credit cost per action and the Assistant's post-beta credit consumption are not stated; whether Foundations can be purchased without a sales conversation is not stated (every plan's call to action is a demo request, though the vendor says Foundations gets started within minutes).

Agentic Index verified 2026-09-08

Alternatives to Ashby

The closest documented capability profiles to Ashby among enterprise operations agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.

  • Deputy9.0 / 14Adds documented Deployment & Data Residency
  • Greenhouse7.0 / 14Adds documented Testing, Debugging & OptimizationAshby vs Greenhouse →
  • Parachute6.0 / 14A lighter documented profile than Ashby
  • SeekOut7.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Workflow Orchestration
  • Shapes7.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Workflow Orchestration
  • Byron8.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Workflow Orchestration and Observability & Auditability

Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We'd love to hear from you.