Back to vendors
S

Shopify

Also known as: Shopify Inc, Agentic Storefronts, Universal Commerce Protocol, UCP, Shopify Catalog, Storefront MCP, Catalog MCP, Shopify AI Toolkit, Agentic Plan

Visit site
Entry priceAgentic plan $0 a month, pay only when a sale is madeFull pricing detail

Commerce platform whose UCP-compliant MCP servers let any identified agent search products across Shopify, build carts, hand checkout to the buyer and follow orders, with trust tiers deciding what each agent may do.

Shopify opens its commerce platform to AI agents through the Universal Commerce Protocol and a set of UCP-compliant MCP servers. An agent identifies itself with a profile hosted at a well-known URL that declares the protocol version and the capabilities it supports, and Shopify places it in a token, signed or anonymous tier, with stronger identification unlocking more sensitive tools and higher rate limits.

From there the agent works through the buyer journey with documented tools. It searches products across every Shopify merchant through the Global Catalog or within a single store, builds and revises a cart over several turns of conversation, converts the cart into a checkout, and follows the order afterwards through order webhooks that push each committed change. When the purchase needs the buyer, the checkout hands off to the merchant's own checkout page in the buyer's browser, so a person confirms and pays.

For builders, the Shopify AI Toolkit installs as a plugin in Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and other AI tools, connecting them to Shopify's documentation and schemas, validating their code, and adding a skill for the checkout tools, alongside a UCP CLI and a tutorial series that walks the whole flow. For brands, the Agentic plan lists products in Shopify's Catalog for AI channels at no monthly fee, paying only when a sale is made. Shopify holds SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports and is certified PCI DSS Level 1.

Vendor details

Canonical URL

https://www.shopify.com

Category

Agent infrastructure

Subcategory

Agentic commerce platform and protocol

Funding status

Public company.

Company status

independent

Use cases & customers

Primary use cases

making merchant catalogs discoverable and purchasable by AI agentsagent driven product search, cart and checkout via MCPattribution and management of AI sales channelsbuilding third party agentic commerce applications on an open protocol

Target customers

SMB and mid-market merchantsShopify Plus brandsdevelopers building agentic commerce applicationsbrands not currently on Shopify via the Agentic Plan

Deployment options

hosted commerce platform; Storefront MCP endpoint live on every store by default across all plans

Integrations

Shopify's UCP-compliant MCP servers expose catalog search across all Shopify merchants or a single storefront, carts, checkout and order tools to external agents, which identify themselves with a UCP profile and are placed in token, signed or anonymous tiers. Order webhooks push order changes to the agent's endpoint, and the Shopify AI Toolkit plugs into Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and other AI tools.

In practice

A merchant becomes discoverable and purchasable across AI agents without implementation work, because the endpoints are live by default and the platform handles the protocol.

A developer registers an agent profile in the dashboard, declares cart and checkout capabilities, and builds against public MCP servers with no approval gate.

A merchant opens the Agentic Storefronts admin to see which orders came from AI surfaces and where surfaced products failed to convert.

Agentic Index coverage score

8.5 / 14 capabilities · 61%

Integrations & Tool Calling Full

Agents act on commerce through documented tools at every step of the buyer journey: catalog search across all Shopify merchants or one storefront, Cart MCP to build and iterate carts, Checkout MCP to convert carts into checkout sessions, and an order tool to fetch order state on demand.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agentsread 2026-09-18

Workflow Orchestration Partial

Shopify's agent surface carries one purchase through a fixed sequence of stages: negotiation and authentication, product discovery, a cart built over several turns, conversion of that same cart into a checkout, and order monitoring after it, with one documented branch where checkout escalates to the buyer's browser when completion needs the buyer. The sequence is set by the protocol and the only branch is the escalation; a builder cannot define its own loops, branches, retries or fallback paths on Shopify's side, and the orchestration of the purchase belongs to the outside agent.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agentsread 2026-09-18

Knowledge Grounding & RAG Full

Agents are grounded in live product data. The Global Catalog lets an agent search products across every Shopify merchant from a single endpoint, a Storefront Catalog scopes discovery to one merchant, and agents fetch the variant details needed to build a cart; as merchants add or change products, the catalog the agent searches changes with them, without retraining.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agentsread 2026-09-18

Human Oversight & Guardrails Full

The purchase is a consent checkpoint for the buyer. Checkout MCP converts an agent's cart into a checkout session and refers the buyer to the merchant storefront to complete the purchase, and when completion needs the buyer, the checkout escalates by opening the merchant's continue URL in the buyer's own browser, so a person confirms and pays.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agents/carts-and-checkout/checkout-mcpread 2026-09-18

Security, Identity & Governance Full

Shopify states it has been issued SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports for the service it provides and is certified Level 1 PCI DSS compliant. On the agent surface, traffic to Shopify's MCP servers is classified into token, signed and anonymous tiers by how the agent identifies itself, stronger identification unlocks more sensitive tools and higher rate limits, checkout tools require authentication or a signed request, and buyer-linked tokens tie an agent's requests to a buyer.

Sourceshopify.com/securityread 2026-09-18

Observability & Auditability Not documented

The agent facing documentation covers order state for the agent, through order webhooks and an order lookup tool, which is commerce state rather than a record of the agent's own behavior.

SourceThe merchant-side Agentic Storefronts admin is documented on Shopify's help center; ask the vendor whether it records what agents did on the merchant's channel, shopify.dev agents documentation; help.shopify.com/en/manual/online-sales-channels/agentic-storefrontsread 2026-09-18

Memory & State Persistence Partial

Cart state persists across the conversation: agents build carts as buyers iterate, adding line items, applying localization and estimating totals across multiple turns, then convert the same cart into a checkout. The cart and order are commerce records rather than a memory the agent keeps, and no agent memory layer with its own scope and lifetime, or a way to review, edit, delete or scope memories by user, team or workspace, is documented.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agentsread 2026-09-18

Deployment & Data Residency Not documented

As a hosted commerce platform, Shopify offers no self hosting option, and its security page covers certifications but not where data is hosted or whether a region can be chosen.

Sourceshopify.com/securityread 2026-09-18

Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs Full

Shopify ships packaged assets agent builders can adopt: the Shopify AI Toolkit installs as a plugin in Claude Code, Codex, Cursor and other AI tools, connecting them to Shopify's documentation and API schemas and installing a ucp skill that lets an agent call every checkout tool, alongside a UCP CLI with structured commands for search, carts and checkout, and a six-part tutorial series that runs the full commerce flow.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/apps/build/ai-toolkitread 2026-09-18

Triggers & Channel Coverage Full

Work reaches the agent without a person asking: after checkout, Shopify pushes the full current order state to the agent's registered endpoint through order webhooks whenever a committed change occurs, across fulfillment events, returns, refunds, exchanges and order edits, and Shopify describes webhooks as the primary signal for proactive notifications.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agents/ordersread 2026-09-18

Model Flexibility & Routing Not documented

Shopify offers no model selection or routing of its own on this surface: agents reach it built on whatever model their builders choose, through MCP servers and the Universal Commerce Protocol.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agentsread 2026-09-18

APIs, SDKs & MCP Extensibility Full

The platform is callable from outside by any agent. Shopify's UCP-compliant MCP servers expose catalog search, carts, checkout and order tools to external agents; an agent identifies itself with a UCP profile hosted at a well-known URL that declares its protocol version and capabilities, and is placed in a token, signed or anonymous tier with the tools and rate limits documented for each.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agents/profiles/auth-and-rate-limitingread 2026-09-18

Testing, Debugging & Optimization Partial

The Shopify AI Toolkit validates GraphQL queries, Liquid templates and Shopify extensions against Shopify schemas so issues are caught before release.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/apps/build/ai-toolkitread 2026-09-18

Browser & Computer Use Not documented

Agents do not operate a browser on this surface. They transact through structured MCP tool calls against Shopify endpoints, catalog search, carts, checkout and orders, rather than by operating a storefront page, and the only browser in the documented flow is the buyer's own, opened at the merchant's checkout URL for the buyer to complete the purchase.

Sourceshopify.dev/docs/agents/carts-and-checkout/checkout-mcpread 2026-09-18

The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded

Recent platform changes

2026-09-28·MCP / tool calling / APIVerified

Shopify added WebMCP tools to checkout, so AI agents running in a shopper's browser can read the active checkout, fill in contact, shipping, discount and payment details, and place the order once the shopper confirms. The tools work on the same state as the checkout page, need no merchant setup, and hand control back to the shopper for steps like 3D Secure.

Bears on: Browser/computer use

View source
View all 1 change for Shopify →Tracked since Sep 2026 · Verified from public vendor sources

Pricing

Agentic plan $0 a month, pay only when a sale is made

commerce platform subscription plus transaction fees; agentic layer largely unpriced

Free tierTrial available

Included quota

Storefront MCP endpoint on every store with no fee; rate limits defined at protocol level by UCP but not quantified in retrieved material.

What is public

The Agentic plan at $0 a month with pay-per-sale, the plan's steps (add products to Shopify's Catalog, choose AI channels), and the authentication tiers and rate limits for the agent-facing MCP servers.

Billing mechanics

Brands selling in AI channels can use the Agentic plan at $0 a month and pay only when a sale is made; the per-sale charge is not stated. Merchants on standard Shopify plans pay their subscription plus transaction fees. The agent-facing infrastructure is bundled rather than separately metered, with a small set of advanced capabilities gated to Plus.

Cost watchouts

The Agentic plan charges only when a sale is made, and the per-sale charge is not stated on the pricing page as read. Agent-facing tool access and rate limits depend on the agent's authentication tier, with checkout rate-limited more strictly than carts. When an agent rather than the customer places an order, post-purchase changes and support still land on the merchant.

Variable cost rationale

**THE LOWEST IN THE ENTIRE PAYMENTS AND COMMERCE POCKET, and deliberately so. The agent facing infrastructure carries no incremental fee at all - Storefront MCP is live on every store across every plan, the Dev server is free and local, and Catalog MCP costs nothing beyond a developer account. There is no agent consumption unit, no take rate on agent traffic and no metering of agent calls. Cost sits in the underlying platform subscription, which a merchant already knows and can forecast.** The unquantified items are UCP rate limits by trust tier and Agentic Plan pricing, neither of which affects an existing merchant.

Additional watchouts

Do not evaluate the agentic layer on price; it is free by design. Evaluate the platform commitment it deepens, and budget the post purchase support burden created when agents rather than customers place orders.

Overage / add-ons

UCP defines rate limits at protocol level, tied to the agent profile and its trust tier; specific thresholds were not retrieved.

Sales call required

No, self serve available

Free / trial

Agentic plan at $0 a month; start for free

Commercial notes

Shopify gives the agentic layer away: its stated Spring 26 theme is free default endpoints across all plans, making every eligible merchant discoverable by agents with zero implementation, and the Agentic plan is listed at $0 a month with pay-per-sale. Shopify also sits inside two agentic commerce protocols at once, co-developing UCP with Google and integrating ACP via Stripe.

Key ambiguities

The pricing page does not state the per-sale charge on the Agentic plan. The pricing page localizes currency by visitor; the $0 monthly figure holds in every currency shown. The Universal Cart API is early-access waitlist only.

Missing data

The per-sale charge on the Agentic plan.

Agentic Index verified 2026-09-18

Alternatives to Shopify

The closest documented capability profiles to Shopify among agent infrastructure platforms tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.

  • Senso8.0 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability
  • nexos.ai11.5 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability and Deployment & Data Residency, among others
  • Force Equals8.0 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability
  • Cartesia10.5 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability and Deployment & Data Residency, among others
  • Fluid Topics7.5 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability and Model Flexibility & Routing
  • Kestra12.5 / 14Adds documented Observability & Auditability and Deployment & Data Residency, among others

Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We'd love to hear from you.