ThoughtSpot
Also known as: ThoughtSpot Spotter, SpotterViz, SpotterModel, SpotterCode, Spotter Embed, Analyst Studio, AgentSpot
Agentic analytics platform whose Spotter agents answer questions over a governed semantic layer, build semantic models with team approval, dashboards and embed code, joined by AgentSpot, which builds agent teams that act in Salesforce, Slack, Asana and Jira with every tool call logged.
ThoughtSpot is an agentic analytics platform. Spotter, its AI analyst, answers questions in natural language, reasons through each step and checks its own work, grounded in verified business definitions in ThoughtSpot's semantic layer. Three more named agents cover the rest of the analytics workflow.
SpotterModel turns raw data into governed semantic models that the data team reviews and approves, SpotterViz builds dashboards from a prompt, and SpotterCode generates embedded analytics code inside IDEs. Spotter can be embedded in business applications and surfaces insights in Salesforce, ServiceNow, Slack and mobile, and it works with GPT series models, Google Gemini, Snowflake Cortex and Claude.
AgentSpot is ThoughtSpot's agent workforce product. A team describes the work and AgentSpot assembles agents with their tools, steps and handoffs, runs them on schedules and events inside Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Jira and other systems, and logs every request, tool call and model interaction. Developers reach Spotter through an MCP server, a REST API and an embed SDK. ThoughtSpot holds SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3 and ISO 27001, supports SAML and OIDC SSO with row and column level security, and lets customers choose a data residency region across AWS, GCP and Azure.
Vendor details
Canonical URL
https://www.thoughtspot.com
Category
Data analyst agent
Funding status
Independent Mountain View analytics company, pioneer of search-driven analytics and natural language query, now positioning as the Agentic Analytics Platform company; launched Spotter November 2024, followed by a four-agent suite (Spotter 3, SpotterViz, SpotterModel, SpotterCode) in December 2025; Chief Development Officer Sumeet Arora; enterprise customer base including CWT
Company status
independent
Use cases & customers
Primary use cases
Target customers
Deployment options
Integrations
Spotter embeds in business applications and surfaces insights in Salesforce, ServiceNow, Slack and mobile. AgentSpot agents act in Salesforce, Slack, Asana, Jira and CRM, HCM and ERP systems. Developers get a Spotter MCP Server for Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini and custom clients, a REST API and an embed SDK. SpotterCode works in Cursor, Claude Code and GitHub Copilot.
In practice
Sales leaders want answers without waiting for an analyst. ThoughtSpot's Spotter answers questions in natural language over governed semantic models, inside Salesforce, Slack or the mobile app.
Your data team spends weeks hand building semantic models. SpotterModel maps relationships, dimensions and measures from a natural language description, and the team reviews and approves the model before it is used.
You want a weekly pipeline digest without building a workflow. AgentSpot assembles an agent from a plain description, runs it every Monday and logs every request and tool call.
Sources & related URLs
Agentic Index coverage score
12.0 / 14 capabilities · 86%
| Integrations & Tool Calling | Full |
|---|---|
|
AgentSpot agents act inside the tools teams already use, such as Salesforce, Slack, Asana and Jira, for example routing work through Slack and creating Asana tasks, across CRM, HCM and ERP systems. The connector list runs past 60 systems, including Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Notion, Snowflake, HubSpot, Zoho, Gong, Stripe, Rippling, Gusto, Zendesk, ServiceNow, GitHub, PagerDuty, Linear, Airtable and Zapier. On the analytics side, every plan includes prebuilt data connectors, Essentials lists live connections to Snowflake, Databricks and Redshift, and Pro adds MCP connectors that bring business context to Spotter. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspot and /pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Workflow Orchestration | Full |
|
In AgentSpot a team describes the work and the platform assembles a team of agents with their tools, steps, logic and handoffs, and the team defines how those agents work together. Each agent is assembled from a plain language description, without code or templates, and carries out multistep actions across the systems the business runs on. AgentSpot has a free plan with 25 credits a week and a Fleet plan at $1,650 a month with 250 credits a week. Inside the analytics platform, SpotterViz plans a story, generates the answers it needs and builds a complete Liveboard, from structure to layout and styling. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspot and /product/agents; thoughtspot.com/blog/introducing-agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Knowledge Grounding & RAG | Full |
|
Spotter's answers are grounded in verified business definitions in ThoughtSpot's semantic layer, which SpotterModel builds from raw data into governed semantic models. SpotterModel works from natural language rather than hand written SQL, and Spotter can work across structured and unstructured data, with Python and forecasting for deeper analysis. Pro plans list a semantic layer built for agents, and ThoughtSpot ties its answers to a patented search token architecture built for transparency. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/product/agents and /pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Human Oversight & Guardrails | Full |
|
The data team reviews and approves the semantic models SpotterModel generates before they are put to use, while the agent does the rest of the modeling work. SpotterModel maps relationships, dimensions and measures with a person validating the result. In AgentSpot, fine grained permissions set what each person can see and do, and no approval step before an agent acts is described. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/product/agents and /agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Security, Identity & Governance | Full |
|
ThoughtSpot holds SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, ISO 27001 and CSA STAR Level 1, and supports SAML and OIDC SSO, role based access and row and column level security. Data is encrypted with TLS in transit and AES 256 at rest, with keys held in a key management system, and multifactor authentication is supported. Login and activity logs are secured and monitored for anomalies. Row level security and encryption come with every analytics plan from Essentials, while SSO over SAML, OAuth or OIDC, unlimited permission groups and advanced data encryption are Enterprise features. AgentSpot adds single sign on and role based access with strict data isolation. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/trust/security, /pricing and /agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Observability & Auditability | Full |
|
AgentSpot logs every request, tool call and model interaction, and Spotter reasons through each step and shows it, so both the answer and the actions behind it can be traced. Across the platform, user login and activity logs are kept, secured and monitored for anomalies. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspot and /trust/securityread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Memory & State Persistence | Partial |
|
AgentSpot describes memory that compounds, with each action drawing on past decisions, preferences and domain knowledge, but what is kept, for how long and how it is reviewed or deleted is not stated. The same page says agents learn and adapt from each interaction. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Deployment & Data Residency | Full |
|
Customers choose the data residency region for their ThoughtSpot environment based on compliance needs, with options across AWS, GCP and Azure. Embedded Enterprise customers can add VPN and VPC deployment options. Enterprise editions of both the analytics and embedded platforms support custom domains and multi tenant setups organized by customer organization. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/trust/security and /pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs | Full |
|
ThoughtSpot ships four named, ready made agents: Spotter for analytical questions, SpotterModel for semantic modeling, SpotterViz for dashboards and SpotterCode for coding in IDEs. SpotterCode turns a short prompt into the code patterns, components and embed logic a developer needs. On the analytics plans, Pro includes all four agents with 25 Spotter queries a month per user, and Enterprise makes them unlimited, while the free Developer plan for embedding includes the same core agents. AgentSpot publishes example agents such as New-Hire Onboarding Runner, Hiring Pipeline Digest and Interview Feedback Chaser. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/product/agents, /pricing and /agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Triggers & Channel Coverage | Full |
|
AgentSpot runs workflows on a recurring schedule and on events, so agents act without a person starting each run; Spotter is also reachable embedded in Salesforce, ServiceNow, Slack and mobile. Examples include a weekly pipeline digest sent every Monday and an onboarding run that starts on each new hire's start date. Every analytics plan from Essentials up includes automated KPI monitoring and anomaly alerts, along with mobile apps for iOS and Android. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspot and /pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Model Flexibility & Routing | Full |
|
Spotter works with GPT series models, Google Gemini, Snowflake Cortex and Claude, and the Spotter deployment docs include a Connect to your Large Language Model page for a customer's own LLM. Flexible LLM selection is listed as an Enterprise analytics feature. ThoughtSpot does not meter or charge for LLM tokens, so model use is covered by the subscription, and Pro includes unlimited tokens under platform governance. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/product/agents and /pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| APIs, SDKs & MCP Extensibility | Full |
|
The documented Spotter MCP Server at agent.thoughtspot.app, with OAuth or bearer token authentication and date based versions, lets Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini or custom clients run natural language queries, create Liveboards and visualizations and search content; it is an add on for Enterprise and Embedded plans, beside ThoughtSpot's REST API and embed SDK. OAuth suits ready made clients and bearer tokens suit custom applications. The Spotter 3 version of the server adds advanced analytics, reasoning, forecasting and automatic selection of the data source. The free Developer plan gives up to 10 users a year of the REST embed API, the Visual Embed SDK and custom styles, themes and actions. SourceThoughtSpot, developers.thoughtspot.com MCP integration docs and thoughtspot.com/pricingread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Testing, Debugging & Optimization | Partial |
|
Spotter checks its own work and refines the result at run time; no test set, accuracy scoring or regression check for agents is described. Semantic models from SpotterModel are validated by people before they go into use. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/product/agentsread 2026-10-05 |
|
| Browser & Computer Use | Not documented |
|
No browser or desktop operation by Spotter or AgentSpot agents is described; they act through data connections and integrations. Reach into tools such as Figma, Miro, Canva and Zoom comes through the AgentSpot integration list. SourceThoughtSpot, thoughtspot.com/agentspotread 2026-10-05 |
|
The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded
Product updates
AgentSpot is a new ThoughtSpot workspace where anyone describes a job in plain language and gets an agent, a workflow that runs on a schedule or trigger, or an interactive app, all built on ThoughtSpot's semantic layer. Agents act within each user's permissions, every action they take is logged, and memory is kept at company, agent, user and agent user levels. A free plan includes unlimited users and agents, and paid usage is charged per conversation, workflow run or app session rather than per token or seat.
Bears on: Agent capability
View sourceSpotter, ThoughtSpot's analytics agent, now recognizes when a question can be answered without deeper reasoning and takes a shorter route, while questions that need deeper analysis stay on the standard path automatically. ThoughtSpot says everyday questions return in under 15 seconds, with the data model context, instructions and Spotter memory still applied and follow up questions keeping the full conversation context.
Bears on: Agent capability
View sourceThoughtSpot released version 26.8.0.cl, featuring a redesigned Admin Portal with an upgraded configuration UI and instant auto-save. The release introduces granular feature management, allowing Org Admins to self-serve feature toggles allocated by Cluster Admins.
Bears on: Security / enterprise
View sourcePricing
Analytics Essentials $25 and Pro $50 per user per month, billed annually. Enterprise is custom. Embedded Developer is free for a year, and AgentSpot has a Free plan and Fleet at $1,650 per month billed annually.
Analytics is priced per user per month by plan, billed annually. Embedded plans are priced by deployment, and AgentSpot by plan with weekly run credits.
Included quota
Pro includes Spotter at 25 queries per user per month and 250M rows. Enterprise includes unlimited Spotter queries, and every plan includes unlimited LLM tokens. AgentSpot Free includes 25 credits a week and Fleet 250.
What is public
ThoughtSpot publishes per user prices for Analytics Essentials and Pro, a free Embedded Developer plan, and AgentSpot's Free and Fleet plans. A Spotter trial experience with no signup and the Spotter Embed positioning are also public. Enterprise analytics and embedded enterprise pricing are custom.
Cost watchouts
The Spotter MCP Server is an add on for Enterprise and Embedded plans. Analyst Studio and unlimited Spotter use require Enterprise. AgentSpot bills when agents run beyond the included credits.
Variable cost rationale
Analytics is billed per user, so cost grows with seats, and LLM tokens are not metered or charged on any plan. Pro caps Spotter at 25 queries per user per month, and unlimited queries come with Enterprise or as an add on. AgentSpot meters agent runs in weekly credits, 25 a week on Free and 250 on Fleet. Runs beyond the included credits are billed, and the cost per extra run is not published.
Sales call required
Yes, required for paid access
Free / trial
Free trial on Essentials, Pro and Enterprise, Embedded Developer free for 1 year, and an AgentSpot Free plan
Lowest paid plan
Essentials at $25 per user per month billed annually, for 5 to 50 users and up to 25M rows
Key ambiguities
Spotter is capped at 25 queries per user per month on Pro and unlimited on Enterprise. AgentSpot credits are a separate weekly allowance whose cost per extra run is not stated. ThoughtSpot does not meter or charge for LLM tokens.
Cancellation / refund
Essentials and Pro are billed annually. No cancellation or refund terms are published.
Support SLA / resale
Enterprise plans include Enterprise Support with a 1 hour SLA.
Related vendors
- Actian AI Analyst — Wobby, now sold as Actian AI Analyst, answers plain language…
- AnswerRocket — Enterprise AI agent platform for analytics built around Max, which…
- AskEarth — Geospatial intelligence agent (GIA) that answers plain language…
- AskYourDatabase — AskYourDatabase is a conversational data analyst that turns plain…
- Athenic AI — Athenic AI is a data analyst agent that connects databases,…
- BlazeSQL — BlazeSQL is an AI data analyst that turns plain English into SQL…
Alternatives to ThoughtSpot
The closest documented capability profiles to ThoughtSpot among data analyst agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.
- Hex12.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Testing, Debugging & OptimizationThoughtSpot vs Hex →
- Tellius12.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Memory & State PersistenceThoughtSpot vs Tellius →
- Zenlytic11.0 / 14A lighter documented profile than ThoughtSpot
- Datafold11.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Testing, Debugging & Optimization
- Wisdom AI11.5 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Testing, Debugging & Optimization
- Opensee10.0 / 14A lighter documented profile than ThoughtSpot
Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded