Back to vendors
K

Knostic

Also known as: Knostic Kirin, Knostic AgentMesh

Visit site
Entry priceKirin: Free for 1 to 5 users, Team $15 per user per month, Enterprise contact sales. Agent security platform: contact sales. AgentMesh catalog: free tiers, Premium $15 per user per month, Pro $850 per user per month, Enterprise custom.Full pricing detail

Security controls for enterprise AI tools and agents. Kirin guards coding assistants and MCP connections inline, with agent inventory, least privilege policies and Copilot oversharing assessments, and AgentMesh rates the risk of agent skills and MCP servers.

Knostic sells security controls for the AI tools and agents enterprises already use. Its main product line is now Kirin, which works inside coding assistants such as Cursor, Claude Code and GitHub Copilot to inspect dependencies, extensions and MCP connections in real time, block risky prompts, destructive commands and unsafe MCP servers before they run, redact secrets and PII, and gate exec and file read operations. Knostic's agent security and MCP posture management keep an inventory of the customer's MCP servers and agents, enforce least privilege access and an allowed server list, alert on policy drift, and log agent actions for audit. Shadow AI Spotlight finds unsanctioned AI tools.

Knostic's earlier product line, need to know access controls for Microsoft 365 Copilot and Glean, continues through a Copilot Readiness Assessment that maps which business topics the assistant exposes and recommends permission fixes. Knostic also runs AgentMesh, a catalog that scans AI agent skills, MCP servers and VS Code extensions for prompt injection and supply chain threats, with free and paid access tiers, and publishes free tools including OpenAnt. The company is based in Herndon, Virginia, is led by CEO Gadi Evron and CTO Sounil Yu, and states SOC 2 Type 2 certification.

Vendor details

Canonical URL

https://www.knostic.ai

Category

Security / SOC agent

Funding status

Independent Herndon, Virginia company founded 2023 by Gadi Evron (serial entrepreneur, former CISO of the Israeli National Digital Authority) and Sounil Yu (creator of the Cyber Defense Matrix, former Bank of America Chief Security Scientist); $19.3M total funding including $11M in March 2025 and a $5M RSAC 2025 Innovation Sandbox investment from Crosspoint Capital Partners; only startup to win both the RSA Conference 2024 Launch Pad and the Black Hat 2024 Startup Spotlight, and an RSAC 2025 Innovation Sandbox Top 10 finalist; SOC 2 Type II certified

Company status

independent

Use cases & customers

Primary use cases

need-to-know access control for enterprise LLMs (Copilot, Glean, Gemini)oversharing, undersharing, and inference risk detectionCopilot readiness assessment before enterprise AI rolloutruntime redaction and blocking of outputs exceeding user permissionsAI knowledge governance and audit for EU AI Act, ISO 42001, NIST AI RMF

Target customers

enterprises deploying Microsoft 365 Copilot, Glean, or Geminisecurity teams assessing AI oversharing before rolloutregulated organizations needing AI knowledge governance and auditAI-forward enterprises with mature data classification

Deployment options

SaaS; hosting regions not stated

Integrations

Coding assistants Cursor, Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf (Codex and JetBrains listed as coming), MCP servers and VS Code extensions, and Microsoft 365 Copilot and Glean for oversharing work. The Enterprise plan adds SIEM and Slack integrations, and Kirin extends existing DLP, DSPM and Purview investments into AI workflows. AgentMesh offers API access by tier. Knostic names no identity provider integrations.

In practice

Your developers have connected a dozen MCP servers to Cursor and Claude Code without review. Kirin checks each connection against your allowed list, blocks unapproved servers before they connect and logs every block for the security team.

A coding agent is about to run a destructive command or read a secrets file. Kirin checks the action before it executes, blocks it under your policy and redacts secrets and personal data in the IDE.

You are rolling out Microsoft 365 Copilot and worry it will surface HR and finance files to the wrong people. The Copilot Readiness Assessment maps which business topics are exposed and which permissions to fix.

Agentic Index coverage score

6.0 / 14 capabilities · 43%

Integrations & Tool Calling Full

Kirin integrates into Cursor, Claude Code, GitHub Copilot and Windsurf, with Codex and JetBrains listed as coming, to block risky prompts, MCP connections and extensions inline. The Enterprise plan adds SIEM and Slack integrations, and Kirin is built to extend existing DLP, DSPM, Purview and SIEM investments into AI workflows. The Copilot work covers Microsoft 365 Copilot and Glean, with remediation through permissions and labels.

SourceKnostic, getkirin.com, /pricing, /features and /enterpriseread 2026-10-06

Workflow Orchestration Partial

The product runs a fixed pipeline over the customer's AI tools and agents, discovering, monitoring, enforcing and remediating, with the same policies applied to agents built in house, SaaS agents and MCP driven agents. Knostic does not orchestrate the customer's agents, and customers cannot build a flow of their own.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/ai-agent-security-solutionread 2026-10-06

Knowledge Grounding & RAG Partial

An up to date list of the customer's allowed MCP servers is kept, with every connection validated in real time, alongside a map of which business topics, such as HR, finance and legal, Copilot exposes. AgentMesh is Knostic's own catalog, which scans every MCP server, agent skill and extension for prompt injection, malicious behavior and supply chain risk. Knostic describes no retrieval structure that the agents draw on.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/mcp-security-posture-management-solution and /copilot-readiness-assessmentread 2026-10-06

Human Oversight & Guardrails Partial

Policies on the customer's coding agents block destructive commands and risky prompts and connections, redact secrets and PII, gate exec and file read operations, and enforce least privilege access, OAuth based agent authentication and an allowed MCP server list, with policy groups on the Enterprise plan. These policies block or allow. Knostic names no step that asks a person to approve an agent action before it commits.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/ai-agent-security-solution, /mcp-security-posture-management-solution and getkirin.com/pricingread 2026-10-06

Security, Identity & Governance Full

Kirin's Team plan adds role based access control and audit logs, and its Enterprise plan adds enterprise SSO. Multi factor authentication is among the product security controls. Knostic reports SOC 2 Type 2 and GDPR compliance, and its trust center offers a pentest report. Role based training is part of Knostic's own security program.

SourceKnostic, getkirin.com/pricing and security.knostic.airead 2026-10-06

Observability & Auditability Partial

Knostic says it tracks "every agentic action" and keeps logs for compliance and incident response. MCP posture management logs connections, blocks and drift events for review. Kirin gives centralized audit of security events and actions across the customer's agents, with audit logs and a unified dashboard on Team and compliance ready reporting on Enterprise. Knostic describes no record at the level of each step or tool call.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/ai-agent-security-solution, /mcp-security-posture-management-solution and getkirin.com/pricingread 2026-10-06

Memory & State Persistence Not documented

Policies, inventories and allowed lists are settings that shape enforcement. Knostic describes no memory for the customer's agents or for an agent of its own.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/ai-agent-security-solution and getkirin.com; knostic.airead 2026-10-06

Deployment & Data Residency Not documented

The infrastructure runs on Amazon Web Services, with Cloudflare, Descope, Sentry and Groundcover among Knostic's subprocessors. No hosting region is published, and Knostic names no customer environment or data residency option.

SourceKnostic, security.knostic.airead 2026-10-06

Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs Not documented

OpenAnt, the oversharing tester and a prompts library are free standalone utilities, and Knostic names no prebuilt agents, templates or packs. Kirin's Free plan covers teams of up to five with policy controls and MCP, extension and rules scanning, before Team at $15 a user a month and a custom Enterprise plan.

SourceKnostic, getkirin.com/pricing and knostic.ai/copilot-readiness-assessment; knostic.airead 2026-10-06

Triggers & Channel Coverage Full

Kirin enforces inline on each prompt, MCP connection and extension before execution and keeps scanning projects continuously, and MCP posture management flags policy drift and misconfiguration as they occur, with no user prompt needed.

SourceKnostic, getkirin.com, /features and knostic.ai/mcp-security-posture-management-solutionread 2026-10-06

Model Flexibility & Routing Not documented

Knostic governs third party assistants and agents, such as the coding assistants Kirin protects and Microsoft 365 Copilot, and offers no model choice or routing of its own.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai and getkirin.comread 2026-10-06

APIs, SDKs & MCP Extensibility Partial

AgentMesh offers API access by tier, with capped calls for free signed in users and on Premium at $15 a user a month, which includes a Kirin license, and unlimited calls on Pro at $850 a user a month. OpenAnt is an open source tool. Kirin offers open API integration, but no API reference or SDK for building on the Knostic platform is published.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/blog/introducing-agentmesh-access-tiers and getkirin.com/featuresread 2026-10-06

Testing, Debugging & Optimization Partial

The Copilot Readiness Assessment maps which business topics the customer's Copilot exposes, finds the permission gaps behind them against each user's need to know, and recommends changes to file and URL permissions. Knostic delivers it as an independent assessment of the deployed assistant that complements Microsoft's own tools, and there is no harness for the customer to run. A free LLM oversharing tester is also offered.

SourceKnostic, knostic.ai/copilot-readiness-assessmentread 2026-10-06

Browser & Computer Use Not documented

Kirin runs as a background service in the IDE, and the agents it watches are the customer's coding assistants. Knostic describes no browser or computer use.

SourceKnostic, getkirin.com; knostic.airead 2026-10-06

The Agentic Index coverage score grades every vendor Full, Partial or Not documented against the same 14 buyer facing capabilities, from public evidence only. Each capability links to how all vendors in the index score on it. How this evidence is graded

Pricing

Kirin: Free for 1 to 5 users, Team $15 per user per month, Enterprise contact sales. Agent security platform: contact sales. AgentMesh catalog: free tiers, Premium $15 per user per month, Pro $850 per user per month, Enterprise custom.

Kirin and AgentMesh per user per month; agent security platform not published.

Free tierTrial available

What is public

Kirin's plans and prices are public (Free for 1 to 5 users, Team at $15 per user per month, Enterprise by quote for 10 or more users), and so are AgentMesh's access tiers; the agent security platform has no published prices.

Variable cost rationale

Inference, not stated by the vendor: platform cost likely scales with developers, agents and AI tools covered.

Sales call required

Mixed (some tiers require a call)

Free / trial

Kirin Free for 1 to 5 users and a 14-day free trial of Kirin Team and Enterprise; AgentMesh free anonymous and signed-in tiers; free tools such as OpenAnt.

Lowest paid plan

Kirin Team, $15 per user per month for teams of 5 or more users.

Key ambiguities

Kirin Team and the AgentMesh catalog are priced; Kirin Enterprise and the agent security platform are quoted by sales.

Agentic Index verified 2026-10-06

Alternatives to Knostic

The closest documented capability profiles to Knostic among security and SOC agents tracked by Agentic Index, ordered by similarity on the same 14 point evidence the rankings use. No vendor pays for placement.

  • AirMDR6.0 / 14Adds documented Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs
  • Clutch Security6.0 / 14Adds documented Deployment & Data Residency
  • Equixly6.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Workflow Orchestration and Observability & Auditability
  • Evoke Security5.0 / 14Fuller documented coverage on Observability & Auditability
  • Kai7.0 / 14Adds documented Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs
  • Lasso Security7.0 / 14Adds documented Prebuilt Agents, Templates & Packs

Similarity is computed from each vendor's Agentic Index coverage score evidence, axis by axis, not from the totals. How this evidence is graded

Head to head

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We'd love to hear from you.